Posted by: csacrownheights | October 19, 2009

This Week’s veggies 10/20

Full
2 lbs. Yukon Gold Potatoes
1 bu Italian Parsely
1 Head White Cauliflower
1 Head Cheddar Orange Cauliflower
1 Head Red Romaine
1 bu Mixed Carrots
1 pc Daikon Radish
1 Head Red Oak Lettuce
2 pcs. Yellow Onions
1 Head Arrowhead Cabbage
1 bunch of Salad Turnips
1 pc Spagetti Squash
1 pc Eggplant
1 lb. Snap Beans
1 pc. Pepper

Partial
1 lb. Yukon Gold Potatoes
1 bu Italian Parsely
1 Head Cheddar Orange Cauliflower
1 Head Red Romaine
1 bu Green Scallions
2 pcs. Baby Bok Choy
1 pc. Acorn Squash
1/2 lb. Snap Beans

Greetings:
A new item in your share this week is the Cheddar Orange Cauliflower. Although we have grown this variety now for a few seasons, it still brings a smile to my face when I recall an actual question a customer asked me at one of our markets. That person asked me with all seriousness, “What’s that?” pointing to the Cheddar Orange Cauliflower. I replied, “It is an Orange variety of Cauliflower called ‘Cheddar’ ”. The person nodded their head thoughtfully and then asked me, “Does it taste like Cheese?” I was somewhat taken back initially, but after a moment of collecting my thoughts, nodded my head and then replied, “No, actually it tastes a lot like Cauliflower”, pointing out that we had some of my neighbor’s Goat Cheese right on the nearby table that tasted a lot like Cheese.
I can only hope that our drinking water does not come from the same source as that person’s.
Be well,

Fred & Karen

Leave a Reply

Categories

